CFP: EGMM 2001 - Deadline extended to June 18

CFP: EGMM 2001 - Deadline extended to June 18

Post by Nuno Correi » Thu, 07 Jun 2001 04:25:36


This is to let you know that the Paper Submission Deadline for EGMM'2001 has
been extended to June 18, due to several requests.


EGMM 2001 - 6th Eurographics Workshop on Multimedia

Manchester, United Kingdom, September 8-9, 2001

Aims and Scope

This workshop is a follow up on the Eurographics Workshop on Multimedia held
in Milan, Italy in September 1999 and continues a series of five successful
Eurographics workshops on the field. The venue will cover a wide range of
current subjects, ranging from media production to processing and delivery,
with a special focus on issues related to interactive video environments.
These include standards and approaches for interactive television,
hypervideo, collaborative video, augmented reality, mobile multimedia, the
integration of TV and the Web, content analysis, processing and
Authors are invited to submit technical papers in these or related areas.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Interactive Video                       Interactive Television
TV and the Web                          Mobile Multimedia
Audio/Image/Video Processing            Content Analysis
Media Databases and Search Engines      Content Based Retrieval
Story Telling Environments              Automatic Video Generation
Media Information Retrieval on the Web  Media Web Servers and Services
Delivery of Multimedia Data             Media Integration
Authoring Paradigms                     Multimedia Document Metaphors
Video Coding and Description Standards  Video Based Entertainment
Augmented reality                       Auditory interfaces
Audio on the WWW                        Sound in mobile devices

Submission Procedure (all submissions are electronic)
Authors are requested to submit papers, no longer than 10 pages, with the
main body set in a 12-point font. Each paper should contain title,
authors' names and affiliations, abstract, keywords, text, illustrations
and references. Submissions should be sent by e-mail to

Post-workshop proceedings will be available on-line through the Eurographics
Digital Library and in paper book form in the Eurographics Book Series,
currently published by Springer-Verlag Wien. Selection will be based upon
technical and scientific content and relevance to the workshop.

Workshop Format
The workshop will take place just after the Eurographics 2001 Conference, at
the same location. As such, it will provide a very interesting opportunity
for researchers that want to attend or present in both events. The workshop
will be held in two days, including paper presentation tracks and
discussion/plenary sessions.  Attendance is limited to about 60
Participation is open to everyone, not requiring submission of a paper.

Important Dates
 June 18, 2001 Submission deadline (Deadline Extended to June 18)
  July 9, 2001 Notification of acceptance
 July 27, 2001 Deadline for camera-ready copies
  September 8-9, 2001 Workshop

Venue and Fees
The workshop will be held at the UMIST Conference Center, Manchester,
United Kingdom. Workshop participants will be charged a registration
fee that includes workshop draft proceedings, the final proceedings
book (to be mailed after the workshop), coffee breaks and a social
event in the first evening of the workshop. The fee will be 200 Euro
for EG members and 280 Euro for non-EG members. Comprehensive
information about Manchester, traveling and accommodation can be
found at the workshop Web page.

Workshop Co-Chairs
Huw Jones, Middlesex University, UK
Nuno Correia, FCT/UNL, PT

Program Co-Chairs
Joaquim Jorge, IST/INESC, PT
Meera Blattner Kamegai, Community Vision, USA

Program Committee
Ann Blandford, Middlesex University, UK
David De Roure, University of Southampton, UK
David Duce, Oxford Brookes, University, UK
Ephraim Glinert, NSF, USA
Gareth Jones, University of Exeter, UK
Glorianna Davenport, MIT Media Lab, USA
Hong Jiang Zhang, Microsoft, USA
Huw Jones, Middlesex University, UK
Joaquim Jorge, INESC, PT
John F. Buford, Verizon, USA
Jonatas Manzolli, University of Campinas, BR
Marc Davis,, USA
Mario Rui Gomes, IST/UTL, PT
Matthew Turk, UCSB, USA
Meera Blattner Kamegai, CommunityVision inc., USA
Michael Noelle, Austrian Research Centre Seibersdorf, AT
Nicholas Higgett, de Montfort University, UK
Nuno Correia, UNL, PT
Nuno Guimaraes, FC/UL, PT
Pedro Faria Lopes, ISCTE, PT
Pietro Marchisio, CSELT, IT
Rainer Lienhart, Intel, USA
Roger Dannenberg, CMU, USA
Ryohei Nakatsu, ATR MIC Research Labs, Japan
Sharon Oviatt, Oregon Graduate Institute, USA
Teresa Chambel, FC/UL, PT
V. Michael Bove, MIT Media Lab, USA
Wolfgang Herzner, Austrian Research Centre Seibersdorf, AT