- Second Call for Papers

- Second Call for Papers

Post by Christof Teusche » Wed, 13 Aug 2003 21:02:10


The First International Workshop on Biologically Inspired
Approaches to Advanced Information Technology

January 29 - 30, 2004

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland

Website: http://www.veryComputer.com/

Sponsored by
- Osaka University Forum,
- Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, and
- The 21st Century Center of Excellence Program of
  The Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and
  Technology (MEXT), Japan, under the Program Title
  "Opening Up New Information Technologies for Building
  Networked Symbiosis Environment

Biologically inspired approaches have already proved successful
in achieving major breakthroughs in a wide variety of problems
in information technology (IT). A more recent trend is to
explore the applicability of bio-inspired approaches to the
development of self-organizing, evolving, adaptive and
autonomous information technologies, which will meet the
requirements of next-generation information systems, such as
diversity, scalability, robustness, and resilience. These new
technologies will become a base on which to build a networked
symbiotic environment for pleasant, symbiotic society of human
beings in the 21st century.

Bio-ADIT 2004 will be the first international workshop to
present original research results in the field of bio-inspired
approaches to advanced information technologies. It will also
serve to foster the connection between biological paradigms
and solutions to building the next-generation information


The primary focus of the workshop is on new and original research
results in the areas of information systems inspired by biology.
We invite you to submit papers that present novel, challenging,
and innovative results. The topics include all aspects of
bio-inspired information technologies in networks, distributed/
parallel systems, hardware (including robotics) and software.  
We also encourage you to submit papers dealing with:
- Self-organizing, self-repairing, self-replicating and
  self-stabilizing systems
- Evolving and adapting systems
- Autonomous and evolutionary software and robotic systems
- Scalable, robust and resilient systems
- Complex biosystems
- Gene, protein and metabolic networks
- Symbiosis networks


Authors are invited to submit complete and original papers.
Papers submitted should not have been previously published in
any forum, nor be under review for any journal or other
conference. All submitted papers will be refereed for quality,
correctness, originality and relevance. All accepted papers
will be published in the conference proceedings. It is also
planned to publish accepted papers as a book. Manuscripts
should include an abstract and be limited to 16 pages in single
spaced and single column format. Submissions should include
the title, author(s), author's affiliation, e-mail address,
fax number and postal address. In the case of multiple authors,
an indication of which author is responsible for correspondence
and preparing the camera ready paper for the proceedings should
also be included. Electronic submission is strongly encouraged.
Preferred file formats are PDF (.pdf) or Postscript (.ps). Visit
our website at http://www.veryComputer.com/
information. Please contact Dr. Murata if you have to submit
hard copies. Manuscripts should be submitted by September 5,
2003 through the Bio-ADIT website. Please contact the technical
program co-chairs for any questions:

Professor Auke Jan Ijspeert
School of Computer and Communication Sciences
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)
Lausanne CH 1015 Lausanne, Switzerland
Tel:  +41-21-693-2658
Fax:  +41-21-693-3705

Professor Masayuki Murata
*media Center
Osaka University
Toyonaka, Osaka 560-0043, Japan
Tel: +81-6-6850-6860
Fax: +81-6-6850-6868


Paper submission deadline : September 5, 2003
Notification of acceptance: November 3, 2003
Camera ready papers due   : December 1, 2003


A limited number of travel grants will be provided for
students attending Bio-ADIT 2004. Details of how to
apply for a student travel grant will be posted on
the workshop website.

An electronic paper submission system is up and ready from
July 1, 2003 to accept papers for Bio-ADIT. Please visit
our website at http://www.veryComputer.com/
more up-to-date information.

General Co-Chairs:
  - Daniel Mange (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Shojiro Nishio (Osaka University, Japan)
Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs:
  - Auke Jan Ijspeert (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Masayuki Murata (Osaka University, Japan)
Finance Chair:
  - Marlyse Taric (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Toshimitsu Masuzawa (Osaka University, Japan)
Publicity Chair:
  - Christof Teuscher (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Takao Onoye (Osaka University, Japan)
Publications Chair:
  - Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka University, Japan)
Local Arrangements Chair:
  - Carlos Andres Pena-Reyes (Swiss Federal Institute of
    Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland)
Internet Chair:
  - Jonas Buchli (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)

  - Auke Jan Ijspeert (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Masayuki Murata (Osaka University, Japan)

  - Michael A. Arbib (University of Southern California,
    Los Angeles, USA)
  - Aude Billard (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Takeshi Fukuda (IBM Tokyo Research Laboratory, Japan)
  - Katsuo Inoue (Osaka University, Japan)
  - Wolfgang Maass (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
  - Ian W. Marshall (BTexact Technologies, UK)
  - Toshimitsu Masuzawa (Osaka University, Japan)
  - Alberto Montresor (University of Bologna, Italy)
  - Stefano Nolfi (Institute of Cognitive Sciences and
    Technology,CNR, Rome, Italy)
  - Takao Onoye (Osaka University, Japan)
  - Rolf Pfeifer (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  - Eduardo Sanchez (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Hiroshi Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan)
  - Moshe Sipper (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
  - Gregory Stephanopoulos (Massachusetts Institute of
    Technology, USA)
  - Adrian Stoica (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA)
  - Gianluca Tempesti (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology,
    Lausanne, Switzerland)
  - Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka University, Japan)
  - Hans V. Westerhoff (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL)  
  - Xin Yao (University of Birmingham, UK)