CFP: International Workshop on Multi-Media Data Base Management Systems (IW-MMDBMS)

CFP: International Workshop on Multi-Media Data Base Management Systems (IW-MMDBMS)

Post by Kingsley C. Nwo » Sun, 11 Dec 1994 08:08:08


                        FIRST INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP



                            August 28-30, 1995

                Blue Mountain Lake, NY (The Adirondacks)

  CASE Center, Syracuse Univ.

in cooperation with:
  IEEE Computer Society (pending)

The rapid advances in many facets of Computer Technology have intensified
Research and Development interests in Multi-Media Information Processing(MMIP).
Despite the current existence of some forms of Multi-Media Systems, the
true realization of MMIP rests on the ability to access and manipulate the
multi-media objects. That can only be adequately addressed and achieved via
Multi-Media Data Base Management Systems (MMDBMSs). For conventional text-based
information, data access and manipulation have advanced considerably; however,
for multi-media systems that incorporate continuous media objects, e.g., audio
and video, and other media types like images, voice, and graphics, they pose
novel problems.

This workshop, which is intended to become an annual event, is a follow-up to
the highly successful multi-media workshop held in conjunction with the
ACM Annual Multi-Media Conference in San Francisco, California, in
October 1994. The workshop will also feature two internationally
reputable guest speakers.

The workshop will emphasize on the issues relevant to designing, developing,
and utilizing MMDBMSs especially the areas listed below.

Areas of Interest:
Multi-Media Database  Models
Decomposition/Organization Strategies
Storage Structures and Techniques
System, Schema, and Functional Architectures
Query Language Designs and Specifications
Retrieval/Search Techniques/Strategies/Algorithms
Metadata Management
Query Optimization
Application/User Interfaces
Access Methods and Indexing Techniques
Distributed Multi-Media Data Management
Multi-media Data Synchronization
QoS Delivery/Presentation Issues
Performance Evaluation
Data Compression
Access Security Issues
Object-Oriented Paradigms

Information for Authors:
Authors are invited to submit 4 copies of each paper not exceeding
25 double-spaced pages, including figures, pictures, etc. to
Dr. Kingsley C. Nwosu (see address below).
Each paper must include an abstract of less than 200 words.
Previously published papers will not be considered. When deemed necessary
and sufficient by an author, a paper may be an extended summary. Each author
must clearly describe the nature of the work, significant contributions to
the body of work, discuss the novel features, and its current status.

A one page cover which contains the full name, affiliation, phone numbers,
e-mail address, and full mailing address of each author must accompany each
paper. The cover page must also indicate a contact author in the
case of multiple  authors. If a paper is accepted, the author(s) will
prepare the final manuscript, as requested, in time for inclusion in
the Workshop proceedings and one of the authors must present the
paper at the Workshop.

Important Dates:
        Papers due:                             Feb. 15, 1995.
        Notification of Acceptance/Rejection:   April 15, 1995.
        Camera-ready copies due:                May 15, 1995.

General Chair:
Prof. P. Bruce Berra
Director, CASE Center,
Suite 2-212, CST,
Syracuse Univ.,
Syracuse, NY 13244.

Program Chairs:
Dr. Kingsley C. Nwosu
AT&T Bell Labs.,
67 Whippany Rd., Rm. 2C-256,
Whippany, NJ 07981-0903.

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham
The Mitre Corp.,
K329, Burlington Rd.,
Bedford, MA. 01730.

Program Co-Chairs:
Prof. Rajiv Mehrotra
Dept. of Mathematics & Computer Science
Univ. of Missouri-St. Louis
8001 Natural Bridge Rd.
St. Louis, MO 63121

Dr. Patrick Bobbie
Dept of CIS,
Florida A&M Univ.
Tallahassee, FL 32307.

Local Arrangements/Registration:
Emileen Butler
CASE Center
Suite 2-212, CST,
Syracuse Univ.
Syracuse, NY 13244.

Program Committee:
P. Venkat Rangan (UCSD)
A. Silberschatz (AT&T Bell Labs)
Arif Ghafoor (Purdue Univ.)
Philip S. Yu (IBM)
Warren Sterling (AT&T GIS)
Roger Chen (Syracuse Univ.)
A. Biliris (AT&T Bell Labs)
Raj Yavatkar (U. KY)
Tom Little (Boston Univ.)
Alex Pentland (MIT Media Lab.)
F. Golshani (Arizona State Univ)
Surajit Chaudhuri (Hewlett Packard)
Joseph Urban (Arizona State Univ.)
Satya Prabhakar (Honeywell)
Grep Speegle (Baylor Univ)
Dragutin Petkovic (IBM)
Le Gruenwald (U. OK)
Olivia R. Liu Sheng (U. Arizona)
Son K. Dao (Hughes)
Ramest Jain (UCSD)
Soon Chung (Wright St. U.)