Post by Pascal Van Hentenry » Mon, 16 Aug 1993 22:04:28

                       Call For Papers


                S. Margherita Ligure, Italy, 13-18 June 1994

           Sponsored by the Association of Logic Programming

Logic programming originates from the discovery that a subset of
predicate logic could be given a procedural interpretation which was
first embodied in the programming language Prolog. The unique features
of logic programming make it appealing for numerous applications in
artificial intelligence, computer-aided design and verification,
databases, and operations research as well as to explore parallel and
concurrent computing. The last two decades have witnessed substantial
developments in this field from its foundation to implementation,
applications, and the exploration of new language designs.

ICLP'94 is the eleventh international conference on logic programming
and is one of the two major annual international conferences reporting
recent research results in logic programming. The technical program
for the conference will include tutorials, invited lectures, and
presentations of refereed papers and posters. Papers are welcome on
all aspects of logic programming, including, but not limited to:

        Applications                     Language design    
        Architecture                     Natural language    
        Artificial Intelligence          Parallelism  
        Concurrency                      Programming methodology
        Constraints                      Proof theory            
        Databases                        Semantics and foundations
        Environments                     Static analysis
        Higher-order programming         Theorem Proving
        Implementation                   Types          

Papers must be written in English, must not exceed 15 pages (including
references and figures), and must contain a cover page including the
following: a 200 word abstract, keywords, and postal and electronic
mailing addresses as well as phone numbers and fax numbers of the
responsible author. Submitted papers should not have been previously
published or being submitted to any journals or refereed conferences.
Accepted papers must be presented at the conference.  

Send SIX (6) copies of your submission by NOVEMBER 15, 1993 to

        Pascal Van Hentenryck
        Brown University, Box 1910
        Providence, RI 02912 (USA)

        Phone: +1 401 863 76 34
        Fax: +1 401 863 76 57

Authors will be notified of the acceptance or rejection of their
papers by FEBRUARY 21, 1994. Final versions of the accepted
papers must be received in camera-ready form by MARCH 15, 1994.
The proceedings will be published by MIT Press.

ICLP'94 will take place in Santa Margherita Ligure, a small town in
the Italian Riviera close to Genova, the largest city of Liguria.
Close to the conference site is the worldwide famous village of
Portofino, pearl of the Mediterranean Sea and marine natural park; not
far from Santa Margherita is also the pleasant resort area of "Cinque
Terre", consisting of five pictoresque villages on the rocky coast
which can be reached by train or boat only.


Khayri Ali            Sweden      
Maurice Bruynooghe    Belgium
Philippe Codognet     France
Yves Deville          Belgium
Herve Gallaire        France
Chris Hogger          UK
Joxan Jaffar          USA
Giorgio Levi          Italy
Jan Maluszinski       Sweden
Kim Marriott          Australia
Maurizio Martelli     Italy
Lee Naish             Australia
Frank Pfenning        USA
David Poole           Canada
Raghu Ramakrishnan    USA
M. Rodriguez-Artalejo Spain
Gert Smolka           Germany
V.S. Subrahmanian     USA
Peter Szeredi         Hungary
Evan Tick             USA
Kazunori Ueda         Japan
Pascal Van Hentenryck USA
Peter Van Roy         France
Andrei Voronkov       Sweden
Mark Wallace          Germany
Rong Yang             UK

Maurizio Martelli (Genova)

Pascal Van Hentenryck (Brown)

Lee Naish (Melbourne)

Catuscia Palamidessi (Genova)

Fosca Giannotti (Pisa)

Rosa Maria Bottino (IMA-CNR)
Giorgio Delzanno (DISI)
Giuseppe Marino (DIST)
Alessandro Messora (DISI)

Piera Ponta (CGR)