These questions are bothering me:
1. I use replication for fault tolerant purposes. When the primary
(sending) server fails. Is it allowed to switch clients to the
subscribing server and let them alter the data ?
2. It seems like the command 'truncate table' is not allowed when the
table is published to another server. Is 'delete from' the only
alternative to accomplish a full delete ?
3. For existing data to be published, do I first have to transfer/copy
the database to another server before I switch on replication for it ?
In other words: initial replication does not synchronise the database
in a way that the destination database is being synced so that it is
an exact copy of the publishing database ?
4. Only data in published tables is replicated, not the permissions
and database properties, right ?
So, every option (i.e. select bulk into or truncate on checkpoint) for
the publishing database must be manually set on the destination
database, right again ?
Thanks for you time and happy sync'ing